Munster League Round 6 & Munster Champs Report

Upperchurch Drombane Cycling Club today hosted the Munster Cyclocross Champs, and the race was also Round 6 of the Munster CX league.

Tee course, a mixture af grass, roadway and forest trail, was a challenging one and as rain began to fall, it provided a tough challenge for those vying for Munster honours.

Richard Maes from Killarney was quick out of the blocks and immedietly set a blistering pace and was never challenged for the win, finishing up with over one and a half minutes in hand. Behind him, Matt Slattery (Strata 3/Velo /revolution) and Cork man Kevin Keane were locked in a battle for 2nd through out the race. Kevin got the better of that one after a mechanical forced Matt out with just a couple of laps to go.

Trevor Woods (Aquablue Sport) rounded out the podium after a race long battle with Richard Barry (St Finbarrs CC) after Richard got delayed towards the end with a mechanical, but managed to hold on for 4th

In the ladies race, Lisa Stapelbroek continued to dominate in Munster with another fine win. Nessa Rochford claimed her best result of the year with second, followed by DeRonde clubmate Grace Young in 3rd.

In the B Race Brendan Coakley from Over the Hill CC scored a much deserved win after being knocking on the door all year. James O’Sullivan from Killarney was 2nd and Pat Sheehan from Sliabh Luachra rounded out the podium.

Next week is the final round of the Munster CX league in Killarney Co. Kerry. Registeration is now open on

Full results and league standings also on

Munster CX Champs Results
Hosted By Upperchurch Drombane Cycling Club

Elite Ladies
1. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare CC
2. Nessa Rochford DeRonde Van Cork
3. Grace Young DeRonde Van Cork

Elite Men
1. Richard Maes Killarney CC
2. Richard Barry St Finbarrs
3. Cormac Daly Tralee BC

1. Kevin Keane Unattached
2. Trevor Woods Aquablue Sport Academy
3. Patrick Clifford Killarney CC

1. Paul Birchall Revolution CC
2. AJ Murphy Midleton CTC
3. John Crowley Killarney CC

1. Patrick O’ Loughlin Panduit Carrick Wheelers no20
2. Darragh Mc Donnell MBCC
3. Ryan McCcarty MBCC

1.Eoghan Pattwell O’Leary Stone CC
2.Sabien Kulczynski Ride Co Clare
3.David McCarthy MBCC

Full Results from A Race

TotalRank Bib Name Club Class
1. 102 Richard Maes Killarney Cycling Club Sen
2. 101 Kevin Keane Unattached Leinster M40
3. 104 Trevor Woods Aquablue M40
4. 103 Richard Barry St. Finbarrs CC Sen
5. 110 Cormac Daly Tralee Manor West Bc Sen
6. 108 Marcus Treacy Killarney Cycling Club Sen
7. 112 Patrick Clifford Killarney Cycling Club M40
8. 117 Gerald Troy Burren Racing Team Sen
9. 115 Paul Birchall Revolution CC M50
10. 114 Kenny Bucke Murphy Surveys Kilcullen M40
11. 140 Hugh Mulhearne Panduit Carrick Wheelers CC M40
12. 137 AJ Murphy Midleton CTC M50
13. 146 Russell Treacy St. Finbarrs CC M40
14. 132 John Crowley Killarney Cycling Club M50
15. 131 Robert Reidy Kilcullen Sen
16. 133 colin leahy Killarney Cycling Club Sen
17. 147 Stephen Allen St. Finbarrs CC M40
18. 138 Shane fuller Msl Mercedes Benz cork giant Sen
19. 130 Neil Hodges Kanturk O’Leary Stone JNR
20. 143 Donough Barrow Revolution CC M40
21. 128 Micheal Corkery De Ronde Van Cork M50
22. 116 John Dempsey Panduit Carrick Wheelers CC Sen
23. 141 Martin O’Loughlin Panduit Carrick Wheelers CC M50
24. 107 Matt Slattery STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team Sen
25. 139 Kevin Sherlock Nenagh CC Sen
26. 126 Terence Rea De Ronde Van Cork M40
27. 142 JOHN COLLINS Revolution CC M40
28. 148 Kevin O’Leary St. Finbarrs CC M60
29. 134 Brendan Osullivan Killorglin Cycling Club Sen
30. 136 Peter Meaney Midleton CTC M50
31. 150 Jerry Ryan Upperchurch Drombane CC M40
32. 121 Danny MacDonald Burren Racing Team JNR
33. 123 Brian Nevin Burren Racing Team M40
34. 119 David Scannell De Ronde Van Cork Sen
35. 144 Indrek Mannik Revolution CC Sen
36. 92 Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare Cycling Club FEM
37. 91 Nessa Rochford De Ronde Van Cork FEM
38. 90 Grace Young De Ronde Van Cork FEM
39. 125 Sean Walsh De Ronde Van Cork M40
40. 105 Conor Kissane Killarney Cycling Club Sen
41. 127 Tom Moore De Ronde Van Cork M50
42. 93 Ciara Mangan Unattached FEM
43. 149 Barry Sutton STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team M40
44. 122 John Maloney Burren Racing Team M40

B Race Top 10
1. 9 Brendan Coakley Over the Hill CC B Race
2. 6 James O’Sullivan Killarney Cycling Club B Race
3. 35 Pat Sheehan Sliabh Luachra CC B Race
4. 11 Richard Cleverley Sliabh Luachra CC B Race
5. 12 Patrick Breen Tipp wheelers B Race
6. 29 Brian McCarthy MBCC B Race
7. 14 Declan Bourke UDCC B Race
8. 5 Sean Molloy DUCC B Race
9. 2 John Carey Cork Tri Club B Race
10. 3 William Rock Cork Tri Club B Race